#1 Jay W

Jay W

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,529 posts
  • LocationYakima, WA

Posted 30 September 2012 - 07:20 AM

I started this in Spring 2009 but wanted to get it documented here for future reference.

This is a project I've been putting off for a few years now. The condition of my '46 CJ2A frame has been deteriorating rapidly the last few years. Keep in mind the stock frame was designed for a 2200lb, 60 hp vehicle with 6.5x16 tires. Today it's about 3x the hp., over 4000 lbs., and 37" tires fully locked.
This started out as just a "repair the damage and get it back on the trail", but like many projects like this it snowballed as I started to tear into it. Once the front sheetmatal was pulled there was WAY more garbage that I hadn't noticed before. There were several places where the cracks were clear through the front sections of the frame rails and basically held togather with paint. :lol: Keep in mind the boxed and strapped work from the previous owner just wasn't cutting it anymore.
My first plan was to section in the front half of a Wrangler frame I picked up from Jeepscum. Realizing that too would just be a temporary fix I decided to build a new frame from scratch. After some research I decided on some 2x4x1/8wall tubing.
This will be a long project so updates will be slow to come. Let's get to some pictures.

I cut pie shaped pieces where I wanted the bends, then heated the 4th side to close the gap and welded shut.
Posted Image

Both rails done, welding rear crossmember/bumper and a temporary front crossmember.
Posted Image

Posted Image

The spring hangers I made about 8 years ago were torched off the old frame, cleaned up and tacked to the new frame.
Posted Image

Posted Image

Still some welding and gussets needed on the spring hangers but it's a rolling chassis now.
Posted Image

Posted Image